Skip to content

Yü Energy

Yü Energy

Trading

Trustpilot
3.7 out of 57,543 reviews
Citizens Advice
721.5 weighted complaints per 10,000 customersApr-Jun 2026 (non-domestic complaints league, published Sep 2026)
Fuel mix
23.1% renewable electricity1 April 2025 – 31 March 2026. Standard electricity supplied: 56.3% natural gas, 23.1% renewables, 9.8% coal, 6.1% nuclear, 4.7% other; 341.3 g CO2/kWh. The UK average is 48.0% renewables. Green and Pure Green plans are 100% renewable (REGO-backed). All other products are 10.8% renewable.

Yü Energy is a Nottingham-based supplier of electricity, gas and water to UK businesses. It trades through Yü Energy Retail Limited (incorporated 2012), which is part of the AIM-listed Yü Group PLC. The group reported £700m revenue and 131,000 meter points supplied for 2025. Yü offers fixed plans of 1–3 years, pass-through plans for larger sites and a rolling Freedom plan. It publishes its out-of-contract Freedom rates, and contract prices are by quote.

Key facts

Legal name
Yü Energy Retail Limited (named Kensington Power Limited until 7 Nov 2019). Yü Energy is the trading name. The fuel mix disclosure also names a sister company, Toucan Energy Limited (09688876), as a Yü Group subsidiary that holds an electricity supply licence.
Company number
08246810
Company status
Active (Companies House, fetched 24 Sep 2026). Private limited company. Its PSC is Yü Energy Holding Limited (08205335), with 75% or more of the shares and voting rights. The group parent, Yü Group PLC, is listed on AIM (ticker YU.).
Incorporated
10 October 2012
Registered office
Cpk House, 2 Horizon Place, Nottingham Business Park, Mellors Way, Nottingham, NG8 6PY
Phone
0115 975 8258
Email
customercare@yuenergy.co.uk
Ofgem supply licence
Yes
Fuel mix
23.1% renewable electricity (1 April 2025 – 31 March 2026. Standard electricity supplied: 56.3% natural gas, 23.1% renewables, 9.8% coal, 6.1% nuclear, 4.7% other; 341.3 g CO2/kWh. The UK average is 48.0% renewables. Green and Pure Green plans are 100% renewable (REGO-backed). All other products are 10.8% renewable.)
Citizens Advice complaints
721.5 weighted complaints per 10,000 customers (Apr-Jun 2026 (non-domestic complaints league, published Sep 2026))
Citizens Advice rank
10

Tariffs

  • Fix (fully fixed unit rates and standing charges; non-half-hourly electricity and non-daily-metered gas)
  • Multi-Site Fix (one rate across all of a customer's sites)
  • Multi-Fuel Fix (discount for taking two or more utilities)
  • Half-Hourly Fix (fixed day/night rates for half-hourly meters)
  • Part-fixed pass-through plans for sites using over 500,000 kWh a year: Pass-Through, Renewable Pass-Through and Cost Manager Pass-Through
  • Pre-Pay (conventional prepayment meters, electricity and gas)
  • Freedom (rolling rates that are reviewed periodically, with 30 days' notice; the default after a fixed plan ends)
  • Pure Green electricity (REGO-backed 100% renewable option on any fixed electricity plan)
  • Carbon Neutral Gas (offset through Gold Standard or VCS projects)
  • Deemed, Transition and Payment Default plans
  • Business water supply

Contract lengths: 1, 2 or 3 years (fixed plans); Rolling, with 30 days' written notice (Freedom)

Smart meters: Yes

Prices

Freedom Plan (variable), VAT and CCL not stated
Fuel and bandUnit rate (p/kWh)Standing charge (p/day)
Electricity, Non-Half Hourly 63.98 480
Gas, Band 1: <73,200 19.88 750
Show all 32 bands
Freedom Plan (variable), VAT and CCL not stated (all bands)
Fuel and bandUnit rate (p/kWh)Standing charge (p/day)
Electricity, Non-Half Hourly 63.98 480
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Eastern 68.5 3260
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: East Midlands 67.9 3470
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: London 68.5 2990
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Manweb 70.6 3890
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Midlands 67.9 3600
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Northern 67.5 3670
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Norweb 69.2 3280
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Southern 67.6 3660
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Seeboard 68.5 3490
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Swalec 68.7 3650
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: SWEB 68.5 3760
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Yorkshire 68 3610
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Scottish Power 68.6 3830
Electricity, Half Hourly Low Voltage: Scottish Hydro 69.3 3410
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Eastern 68.2 14060
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: East Midlands 67.8 17420
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: London 68.3 10160
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Manweb 69 24730
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Midlands 67.9 19080
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Northern 67.3 23920
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Norweb 68.3 14180
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Southern 67.5 19910
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Seeboard 68.5 21610
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Swalec 68.6 22370
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: SWEB 68.5 21290
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Yorkshire 67.3 21340
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Scottish Power 67.3 22610
Electricity, Half Hourly High Voltage: Scottish Hydro 67.1 15540
Gas, Band 1: <73,200 19.88 750
Gas, Band 2: 73,201 - 732,000 19.88 750
Gas, Band 3: >732,001 19.5 1200

Rates effective from 10 August 2026. Checked 25 September 2026. Source

Switching

Micro businesses using up to 50,000 kWh of electricity or 73,200 kWh of gas a year can get an instant online quote at getquote.yuenergy.co.uk. Other businesses get a quote from sales or through a broker; Yü runs a broker (TPI) channel. When a fixed plan ends and the customer has not agreed a new one, the supply moves to the Freedom plan. Yü says it sends the new Freedom rates before the renewal date. To leave the Freedom plan, the customer gives 30 days' written notice and clears any outstanding balance. A customer who ends their contract but is not registered by a new supplier moves to the Transition plan. A business that moves into premises Yü already supplies starts on the Deemed plan. If a contract requires a smart meter and no installation is booked within 21 days of the contract start date, Yü adds a Smart Default Charge of £120 a month (including VAT) per meter point. Some customers are supported under separate Clear Business pages.

Sources

  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08246810
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/08246810/persons-with-significant-control
  3. uk.trustpilot.com/review/yuenergy.co.uk
  4. yuenergy.co.uk/support/business-electricity-plans-tariffs
  5. yuenergy.co.uk/support/business-gas-plans-tariffs
  6. yuenergy.co.uk/support/other-business-utility-plans
  7. yuenergy.co.uk/app/uploads/2026/07/20260710_Freedom_Rates.pdf
  8. yuenergy.co.uk/app/uploads/2026/09/20260916_Fuel_Mix_2526.pdf
  9. yuenergy.co.uk/contact
  10. supplierswitch.co.uk/energy-suppliers/companies/yu-energy-retail-ltd
  11. ofgem.gov.uk/publications/toucan-energy-limited-notice-revocation-gas-supply-licence
  12. citizensadvice.org.uk/about-us/information/how-does-your-non-domestic-supplier-stack-up
  13. investegate.co.uk/announcement/rns/yu-group--yu./final-results-for-the-year-ended-31-december-2025/9476937

Checked September 2026