Skip to content

Ruby Energy (formerly BES Utilities)

Ruby Energy (formerly BES Utilities)

Trading

Trustpilot
4.5 out of 520,551 reviews
Citizens Advice
232.1 weighted complaints per 10,000 customersApr-Jun 2026 (non-domestic league, published Sep 2026)
Fuel mix
6% renewable electricityApril 2023 to March 2024 (Ruby Electricity Ltd statement; page heading says April 2024 to March 2025)

Ruby Energy is the name used since August 2024 by Ruby Electricity Ltd and Ruby Gas Ltd, the Fleetwood-based business energy suppliers previously branded BES Utilities (BES Commercial Electricity Ltd and Business Energy Solutions Ltd). Both companies are active and hold Ofgem non-domestic supply licences. An Ofgem investigation into the terms of their deemed contracts, opened in September 2023 and widened in September 2025 to cover treating customers fairly, is still open with no findings made. Contract prices are available by quote only; the published out-of-contract electricity rate is 46.2p/kWh with a 300p/day standing charge (non-half-hourly).

Key facts

Legal name
Ruby Electricity Ltd (formerly BES Commercial Electricity Ltd) and Ruby Gas Ltd (formerly Business Energy Solutions Ltd)
Company status
Active (both supply companies); renamed from BES names 06 Aug 2024
Incorporated
2002-04-02 (Ruby Gas Ltd); 2009-04-21 (Ruby Electricity Ltd)
Registered office
Parkside Stand, Fleetwood Town Football Club, Park Avenue, Fleetwood, FY7 6TX
Phone
0344 5678 427
Email
hello@rubyenergy.uk
Ofgem supply licence
Yes
Fuel mix
6% renewable electricity (April 2023 to March 2024 (Ruby Electricity Ltd statement; page heading says April 2024 to March 2025))
Citizens Advice complaints
232.1 weighted complaints per 10,000 customers (Apr-Jun 2026 (non-domestic league, published Sep 2026))
Citizens Advice rank
6

Tariffs

  • Fixed price (electricity and gas)
  • Market Tracker (electricity, prices reviewed every 6 months)
  • Variable (gas)
  • Budget Payment Plan (gas, 12 equal monthly payments)
  • 100% renewable electricity product

Contract lengths: 1-3 years (fixed price, electricity and gas); 2-4 years (electricity Market Tracker); 1-4 years (gas Variable and Budget Payment Plan)

Smart meters: Yes

Prices

Out-of-contract prices (out-of-contract), VAT and CCL not stated
Fuel and bandUnit rate (p/kWh)Standing charge (p/day)
Electricity, Electricity Non Half Hourly (PC 01-08) 46.2 300
Gas, 0 – 73,200 kwh 11.96 450
Show all 5 bands
Out-of-contract prices (out-of-contract), VAT and CCL not stated (all bands)
Fuel and bandUnit rate (p/kWh)Standing charge (p/day)
Electricity, Electricity Non Half Hourly (PC 01-08) 46.2 300
Electricity, Electricity Half Hourly (PC 00) 42.7 500
Gas, 0 – 73,200 kwh 11.96 450
Gas, 73,201- 293,000 kwh 7.86 600
Gas, 293,001 Above 7.86 850

Checked 25 September 2026. Source
Fixed contract prices are quote-only.

Switching

BES Utilities no longer trades under that name. In August 2024 the two licensed supply companies were renamed Ruby Electricity Ltd and Ruby Gas Ltd and now trade as Ruby Energy, so existing BES accounts continue with Ruby and did not move to another supplier. Customers whose contract has ended and who have not agreed a new one are supplied on Ruby's default (out-of-contract) rates, which Ruby itself says are generally higher than contract rates. Account termination requests go to termination@rubyenergy.uk. Ruby says it accepts start-up and low-credit-score businesses paying by Direct Debit. Ultimate parent Ruby Energy Holdings Ltd (10126191) has been controlled by East Pines Energy Investments Ltd since 15 May 2025. Former owner Andrew Pilley ceased as a person with significant control on 26 July 2023.

Sources

  1. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06882734
  2. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/04408013
  3. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/OC349424
  4. find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/10126191/persons-with-significant-control
  5. uk.trustpilot.com/review/rubyenergy.uk
  6. citizensadvice.org.uk/about-us/information/how-does-your-non-domestic-supplier-stack-up
  7. ofgem.gov.uk/publications/investigation-bes-commercial-electricity-ltd-and-business-energy-solutions-ltd-and-their-compliance-slc-73-their-electricity-supply-licence-and-gas-supply-licence
  8. ofgem.gov.uk/sites/default/files/2026-03/all-electricity-licensees.pdf
  9. ofgem.gov.uk/publications-and-updates/bes-pay-980000-failures-customer-service-following-ofgem-investigation
  10. lancashirebusinessview.co.uk/latest-news-and-features/andrew-pilley-sentenced-to-13-years-in-prison-for-fraud
  11. rubyenergy.uk/products
  12. rubyenergy.uk/faq/out-of-contract-prices
  13. rubyenergy.uk/fuel-mix-disclosure
  14. rubyenergy.uk/get-in-touch

Checked September 2026